Image

Sweet Memories…

14 Nov

Sweet Memories...

…is having a Mommy Moment. Every year for my Birthday my mom would bake me a cake and bring it to my house. A Yellow cake with CHOCOLATE Frosting. I love yellow cake, but I HATE Chocolate frosting, and she KNOWS this. I’d say, “Mom, you know I don’t like Chocolate frosting.” And she’d say, “Hell, I remembered you saying something about it, but I didn’t know if you liked it or didn’t like it.” I would still thank her for the cake and then when she would leave I’d give the cake to my neighbor, who came to expect the cake every year. Well one year my Son was with my mom at the grocery store when my mom was reaching for the Chocolate frosting to put on my cake and he said, “Grandma why do you keep doing that? You KNOW my mom HATES Chocolate frosting.” And my mom told him, “Hell, I remember her saying something about it, but I didn’t know if she liked it or she didn’t like it.” So she made me a STRAWBERRY cake that year which I really LOVED. The VERY next year, my Son was NOT with her in the grocery store when she got the stuff for my cake and she made me a yellow cake with CHOCOLATE frosting and did it EVERY year since until she moved south! And every year I would act all excited, thank her for the cake and when she would leave, I’d give the WHOLE sheet cake to my neighbor. Hahahahah! Bouta call and check on my FAVORITE Girl!

Leave a Reply

